The Optimal Ways to Delete Slack Messages in Bulk

The Optimal Ways to Delete Slack Messages in Bulk

While there is no official way to delete Slack messages in bulk, there are a few ways to circumvent the administrative permissions that you need to secure in order to do the task. This article will focus on finding ways for you to mass delete your messages without difficulty.

A. Third Party Application

The best way to delete Slack messages in bulk is to make sure that you download third party application to effectively do the job. This will allow you to delete your messages and files without having to ask for administrative permissions in the future.

Message Bender

One application that you can use is Message Bender. What makes this particular program stand out among the rest is that it does not only delete files and messages from various Slack channels including your own. It also helps back up your files and messages without difficulty. This is why it comes highly recommended by most Slack users for office work.

You should not hesitate to use it right away to get all of the benefits.

B. Removing the Slack Channel Concerned

You can also try deleting your messages in bulk through removing your Slack channel. You can do this by going into your account through the following steps.

1. Click On the #Icon

Click on the app icon on your web browser. It looks like the #. It will open your main Slack group after being logged in.

2. Login

If you are not logged in, you have to enter the name of your Slack channel, your e-mail address and your password before continuing. You can also delete your channel through the website itself.

3. Select the Right Channel

After this, you can select a channel to be deleted. The names of each channel could be found on the left side of the screen.

4. Tap the Gear Icon

Click on the gear icon to reveal a drop down menu that shows all program settings. After this, click on additional options from the drop down menu and you will find out some of the other commands that you will be able to use in order to delete your messages in bulk.

The delete channel option will be at the bottom of the page.

5. Confirm

Once you have chosen the channel scheduled for deletion, you will now be able to tick yes in the popup window. Click on yes to agree. This will automatically delete the channels that have your messages.

C. Archive Your Channel and Messages

If you want to delete your previous messages as well as the backups, all you have to do is to archive your channel. Do this by logging onto your account and selecting the channel that you wish to archive. By clicking on the cog wheel for settings, after selecting your channel, click on archive on the very end of the menu and you will not see your previous messages anymore.

Conclusion

These are just some of the many ways by which you can delete your Slack messages in bulk. It is definitely something that would help you clean up your workspace online without having to worry about asking for administrative permissions. What are you waiting for? Give them a try right now and make your office life a little bit easier.