Top Ways to Effectively Delete Slack Messages

Top Ways to Effectively Delete Slack Messages

These days, it is imperative to be able to delete any form of communication online for security purposes. This is why various messaging application such as Slack tend to have built-in mechanisms to be able to afford users the chance to delete their messages without difficulty.

That being said, doing this requires a bit of a learning curve. Fortunately, there are many tutorial articles and video that you can consult to learn more about how to delete your Slack messages.

If you truly want to delete your Slack messages, here are a few tips that you have to remember.

Getting Started

The good thing about Slack is that members are given the capacity to delete their own messages without having to go through administration at all. You just have to make sure that you are allowed by the administrative site to do this. Here are some important things to remember before deleting your messages.

  • Workspace owners and administrators also have the power to delete messages if they deem necessary.
  • Secondly, the act of deleting your messages is permanent. You have to be careful about which messages you delete.
  • Workspace administrators and owners were served the right to delete messages from chat bots you have created.
  • You should contact your workspace administrator if you want to delete your messages. They are the only ones who can change the settings to allow you to do this.

Once you get these pieces in place, you can proceed to delete your own messages without any additional hassle.

Message Alteration

If the settings allow you to edit or delete your messages, you can do so by following the steps below.

Desktop Computers

For desktops, all you have to do is to hover over the message you want to edit. After this, you will see a three-dotted icon that will reveal a drop down menu with the options to delete or edit the message. You can choose from these options.

After this, just click on the save tab to record all the changes.

For iOS

For this platform, things will be slightly different in mechanics. First, you have to tap and hold onto the message that you would like to edit or delete.

Then tap the edit or delete message confirmation window and make your changes. Click on save to for the settings to stick.

Android

To edit messages on Android, follow the same steps above for iOS. However, instead of clicking on the save tab, click on the check-mark to do so.

For deletion, all you have to do is to tap and hold onto the message that you want to delete until confirmation window shows up. After this, click on delete twice to confirm.

Additional Information

If you want to delete your most recent Slack messages on Mac, Windows or Linux, click on CMD and the up arrow. After this, you can highlight the chosen text and press backspace. Next, press Enter and click Delete to confirm.

The Final Words

In conclusion, while there is no bulk delete feature, workspace owners and administrators can easily delete the entire channel. They also can set up retention policies to delete messages after a certain amount of time.

Just let them know if you want your messages to be deleted right away.